Zumba Tips

I’ve been doing Zumba for about 6 months now and I absolutely love it! I started off with Zumba Sentao around Christmas to lose some weight with my friends but unfortunately I didn’t see much results. This was not down to the instructor or Zumba itself it was all my own doing. Even though I was exercising I wasn’t eating as healthily as I should have which is why I stayed at the same weight. I was getting frustrated so I decided to get my act together and take Zumba more seriously, eat better and exercise even more by doing some of the routines at home. I took up regular Zumba back in April and I’m happy to say I’m now 2 stone lighter and feel like a new person. Sure I still have a long way to go but without Zumba I never would have moved my ass off of the couch! I used to play camogie and hockey in school but I never felt the sheer enjoyment that I feel when I dance from one side of the room to the other during Zumba class. This is definitely the most fun I’ve ever had doing exercise and I can’t see myself ever wanting to give it up. Have a look at the YouTube clips below to give you an idea of what it’s like.

Zumba Sentao


Regular Zumba

 

For anyone who is thinking about joining here are some tips:

  1. Research
    Beginners should definitely consider researching the different types of Zumba available because there is an endless amount of classes all with a variety of approaches. I started off in a class called Zumba Sentao which involves using a chair, as you can see from the video above. After changing to regular Zumba I saw more results and even enjoyed it more so don’t be afraid to find the right one for you by asking the instructor about the various types or simply look them up online.
  2. Be relaxed and ready
    Stay hydrated throughout your workout as this helps keep you refreshed and energised for more action. Also, for maximum comfort you should wear clothes that are easy to move in and can handle sweat because let’s be honest the last thing you want is to be wiping up your sweat every five minutes! Your shoes are the most important for a good workout, good quality trainers are essential as you will be on the move for at least an hour, nobody likes a blister! Ouch!!
  3. Let go
    Be yourself and let go of any insecurities you may have because the chances that you’re not the only one in the class who isn’t the best dancer or is afraid of what they’ll look like while trying to master certain moves are very high. Forget about it and just let loose! Have some fun and make the most of your time in Zumba by dancing like nobody is watching. Follow your instructor to the best of your ability as there’s no point in half-heartedly attempting the moves because it’ll get you nowhere if your aim is to shed a few pounds. The more you put in, the better the results, trust me.
  4. Use your arms
    It’s not just about moving those legs of yours, your arms are equally as important and by moving them as much as possible you will obviously contribute to toning your arms but I’ve noticed that it can actually add to how much weight you lose all over.
  5. Don’t stand still
    Even if you have no idea of what’s going on or what move you should be following just feel the music and move about the room. As long as you make an effort to move the muscles in your body you’re bound to see more results than if you stand there looking confused. Make up your own moves if necessary, no one will criticise and hey maybe someone will even follow your lead. Shake your entire body and yes that includes your ass! You’ll soon see that in Zumba there’s no avoiding a bit of booty popping.
  6. Stretch
    Do not, I repeat, do not forget to stretch because you will regret it the next day when those aches and pains begin to surface. Every muscle in your body will have been pushed to its limit so make sure you give them a stretch both before and after class.

Enjoy! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Zumba Tips

  1. Hey fellow Zumba fan! Great advices you have here. I took up Zumba around a year back and I’ve never looked back. Have never tried Zumba Sentao but would definitely try it one day. I’m more into Zumba Fitness and Aqua Zumba.

    I did Zumba Basic 1 & 2 some time this year and am contemplating in teaching perhaps end of this year or early 2015! And I would totally recommend you to do that too! (:

    • Hey! Thanks for your comment 🙂
      Oh Aqua Zumba sounds interesting! I might give that a go 🙂
      Great idea to start teaching, no doubt you’d get a lot out of it.
      Thanks again and good luck in your Zumba teaching 🙂

Leave a Reply

