Why Cry?

Crying isn’t something we all love to do. We feel it coming on, the tears are welling up in our eyes and we try our best to prevent them from coming out which is when you realise that you can no longer see clearly because you’re preventing tears from flowing down your dry cheek. The majority of us have that one friend who cries at absolutely everything- babies, weddings, parties and not to mention the cuteness of animals. Yet on the other we have the emotional brick who rarely reveals a tear and when they eventually do everybody is gob smacked. I must say I’m the second type of crier, I very rarely cry, well to people’s faces anyway. I don’t particularly like to see someone cry especially if it’s someone important to me but if I happen to be there when the tears break loose let’s hope it’s because they’re happy about something!

Despite my hatred towards these dreaded tears there have been a number of occasions in my life where, as much as I hate to admit it, I have shed a tear or two. I’m one of those people who associates crying with weakness. Now I know this isn’t true, I don’t consider my friends to be weak for crying but when it comes to my own floods of tears I often feel a sense of disappointment for allowing myself to shed even one measly drop.

What’s the reason behind this you may wonder? I simply choose to hide my sadness from the world as a result of many misfortunes I have encountered over the years. I guess it all started when I was 6 years old and my dad died… From then on I decided to be strong and put on a brave face for the rest of the world to see.
So you see, while there’s the person who over-cries, there’s people like me who are rarely visibly upset over something as serious as a break-up or a death to something as insignificant as a bad hair-do or dropping a heavy object on my bare feet.

However, you can bet that I’m crumbling on the inside longing to release those tears of mine and share them with the rest of you.

Leave a Reply

